2017-2018 Catalog 
    Jul 20, 2018  
2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]



  John J. Hiemenga, M.A., B.D., 1919-1925
  Johannes Broene, M.A., 1925-1930
  Rienk B. Kuiper, M.A., B.D., 1930-1933
  Ralph Stob, Ph.D., 1933-1939
  Johannes Broene, M.A., 1939-1940
  Henry Schultze, B.D., 1940-1951
  William Spoelhof, Ph.D., 1951-1976
  Anthony J. Diekema, Ph.D., 1976-1995
  Gaylen J. Byker, J.D., Ph.D., 1995-2012
  Michael K. Le Roy Ph.D., 2012-

Office of the President

  President Michael K. Le Roy, Ph.D.
  Senior Executive Associate to the President for Development Robert A. Berkhof, M.S.
  Executive Associate to the President for Diversity and Inclusion Michelle R. Loyd-Paige, Ph.D.

Academic Affairs

  Provost Cheryl K. Brandsen, Ph.D.
  Academic Dean Elizabeth A. Vander Lei, Ph.D.
  Academic Dean Stanley L. Haan, Ph.D.
  Dean for Academic Administration Michael J. Stob, Ph.D.
  Registrar and Director of Academic Services Thomas L. Steenwyk, M.A.
  Dean for Research and Scholarship Matthew S. Walhout, Ph.D.
  Associate Dean for Curriculum and Planning and Director of Retention Todd Dornbos, M.P.A.
  Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion Pennylyn Dykstra-Pruim, Ph.D.
  Associate Dean for Programs and Partnerships William Katerberg, Ph.D.
  Dean of Education James K. Rooks, Ed.D.
  Dean of the Hekman Library David B. Malone, M.A., M.S., M.Ed.
  Curator of the Archives Richard H. Harms, Ph.D.

Academic Programs

  Athletic Director-External Operations James R. Timmer Jr., Ph.D.
  Athletic Director-Internal Operations and Compliance Nancy L. Meyer, Ed.D.
  Community Engagement Gail G. Heffner, Ph.D.
  Developing a Christian Mind Susan M. Felch, Ph.D.
  First-Year Seminar Rick E. De Vries, Ph.D.
  Graduate Studies in Education David I. Smith, Ph.D.
  Honors Program Bruce R. Berglund, Ph.D.;
    Amy M. Wilstermann, Ph.D.
  Ministry Leadership Program Todd V. Cioffi, Ph.D.;
    Christiana de Groot, Ph.D.
  Off-Campus Programs Donald G. De Graaf, Ph.D.
  Rhetoric Across the Curriculum Karen E. Saupe, Ph.D.;
    Dean Ward, Ph.D.
  Service-Learning Jeffrey P. Bouman, Ph.D.
  Social Work Rachel M. Venema, M.S.W.

Centers, Institutes, and Named Chairs

  Brummel Chair in Organic Chemistry Michael R. Barbachyn, Ph.D.
  Gary & Henrietta Byker Chair in Applied Reformed Theology and Worldview James K. A. Smith, Ph.D.
  Calvin Center for Christian Scholarship Susan M. Felch, Ph.D.
  Calvin Center for Innovation in Business Robert H. Eames, M.B.A.
  Calvin Institute of Christian Worship John D. Witvliet, Ph.D.
  Calvin Clean Water Institute David B. Wunder, Ph.D.
  Center for Social Research Neil E. Carlson, Ph.D.
  James & Judith Chambery Fellow for the Study of Ethics in Business Jason M. Stansbury, Ph.D.
  Arthur H. DeKruyter Chair in Faith and Communication William D. Romanowski, Ph.D.
  Ecosystem Preserve Randall G. VanDragt, Ph.D.
  Paul B. Henry Chair in Christianity and Politics Kevin R. den Dulk, Ph.D.
  Paul B. Henry Institute for the Study of Christianity and Politics Kevin R. den Dulk, Ph.D.
  William Harry Jellema Chair in Christian Philosophy Kevin Timpe, Ph.D.
  Kuyers Institute for Christian Teaching and Learning David I. Smith, Ph.D.
  H. H. Meeter Center for the Study of Calvinism Karin Y. Maag, Ph.D.
  Frederik Meijer Chair in Dutch Language and Culture Herman J. De Vries, Ph.D.
  Mellema Program in Western American Studies William H. Katerberg, Ph.D.
  Nagel Institute for the Study of World Christianity Joel A. Carpenter, Ph.D.
  Queen Juliana Chair of the Language and Culture of the Netherlands Herman J. De Vries Jr., Ph.D.
  John & Judy Spoelhof Institute for Christian Leadership in Business  
  William Spoelhof Teacher-Scholar in Residence Micah J. Watson, Ph.D.
  Van Lunen Center for Executive Management in Christian Schools James C. Marsh Jr., M.Ed.

Administration and Finance

  Vice President for Administration and Finance Sally J. Vander Ploeg, J.D.
  Director of Financial Services Barbara R. Boers, B.A., C.P.A.
  Controller Ruth O. Witte, B.A., C.P.A.
  Senior Financial Analyst  
  Director of Physical Plant Philip D. Beezhold, B.A.
  Director of Hospitality Services Rick Balfour, B.S.
  Operations Director, Creative Dining Craig R. Farrell, B.S.


  Vice President for Advancement Kenneth D. Erffmeyer, M.B.A.
  Director of Advancement Services John P. Smilde, B.S.
  Director of Alumni and Parent Relations Michael J. Van Denend, M.A.
  Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Engagement Rick D. Treur, B.A.
  Director of Event Services Juli Haga, A.A.
  Director of Grants and Foundation Relations Jodi Overman, M.S.
  Director of Gift Planning Abraham R. Vogelzang, J.D.
  Director of The January Series Kristi L. Potter, B.A.

Enrollment Management

  Vice President for Enrollment Management Russell J. Bloem, M.B.A.
  Director of Admissions, Visits, and Initiatives Benjamin Arendt, Ph.D.
  Director of Communications and Brand Steward Timothy J. Ellens, B.A.
  Director of Pre-College Programs Nygil B. Likely, M.B.A., M.A.
  Director of Marketing and Client Services Jeanne Nienhuis, B.A.
  Director of Enrollment Systems and Operations Debra K. Van Beek, B.A.
  Director of Financial Aid Paul R. Witte, B.S., C.P.A.

People, Strategy, and Technology

  Vice President for People, Strategy, and Technology Todd K. Hubers, M.S.
  Associate Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer Brian D. Paige, M.S.
  Director of Human Resource Services Andrew L. George, M.S.
  Director of Employee Relations Deirdre Honner, M.A.
  Director of Institutional Effectiveness and Analytics Lauren J. Jensen, B.A.

Student Life

  Vice President for Student Life Sarah Visser, Ph.D.
  Dean of Students John Witte, M.A.
  College Chaplain Mary S. Hulst, Ph.D.
  Dean of Intercultural Student Development Christina Edmondson, Ph.D.
  Dean of Student Conduct Jane E. Hendriksma, M.A.
  Associate Dean of Campus Involvement and Leadership John Britton, M.A.
  Director and Counselor, Broene Counseling Center  
  Director of Career Development TaRita Johnson, M.A.
  Director of Campus Safety William T. Corner, B.A.
  Director of Commuter Student Life and Assessment C. Robert Crow, M.A.
  Director of Student Activities Kenneth W. Heffner, A.B.
  Director of Health Services Laura D. Champion, M.D.